Skip to content

word of the week #9

3:48 pm

Stentorian- extremely loud

The stentorian level of my teacherโ€™s voice makes my brain hurt.


Thanks to Kate for correcting this word!
29 Comments leave one →
  1. 8:14 pm 8:14 pm

    kewl! hwo long have u been doin this blog?

  2. BlackCherise permalink
    8:33 pm 8:33 pm

    ok hi guys! this is moi, BlackCherise! the one who left the comment up top! i just made a whole new account and i will be using this one for now on ok? ttyl! (btw dont visit my site yet. i havent done a thing to it! lol)

  3. Kate permalink
    8:39 pm 8:39 pm

    nooooooooooooooooooooooo. You used an adjective as an adverb. NOOOOOOOOOO!!!

  4. 8:44 pm 8:44 pm

    Awesome site! ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. 8:46 pm 8:46 pm

    omg ds u just break the law! well, kate’s law anyway… lol

  6. 9:25 pm 9:25 pm

    please tell me how to use it so i can fix the sentance!!!

  7. sk8ercheatz permalink
    9:33 pm 9:33 pm

    Hi drkshadow nice blog!

  8. 9:39 pm 9:39 pm

    thanks!

  9. Kate permalink
    1:24 am 1:24 am

    How about…”The stentorian level of my teacherโ€™s voice makes my brain hurt.” As far as I can tell, there is no adverb form of it, so…I would just stick with “loudly.” I’m declaring “stentorian” the worst word ever. Well…among them.

  10. 8:09 pm 8:09 pm

    Yes. It is one of the worst words ever. I’ll corect the post right now. ๐Ÿ˜€

  11. 8:19 pm 8:19 pm

    lol

  12. Kate permalink
    10:12 pm 10:12 pm

    Word of the week #9b: Amazing. adj. Meaning: the only appropriate word to describe Kate. Hells yeah.

  13. 10:52 pm 10:52 pm

    ๐Ÿ˜† ok kate, question rite outta the blue, wat do u want to have as a career? i wanna be a dentist. dont laugh. if u ask me, its an awesome job. like, 200 bucks per client and u only have to know one part of the whole human body. but then again, maybe an orthadontist is good too… ds, u can answer this too if u wish ๐Ÿ˜€ g2g now, cya

  14. Kate permalink
    1:17 am 1:17 am

    I want to be a psychologist. I know a lot of people think therapy is a load of crap, but I think studying the human psyche is fascinating. I took a psych class in high school and pretty much came right out to my teacher and said, “This is bullshit.” Then I took a year off from school, working as a chef–because I also love to cook–and realized, I really want to be a psychologist.

    People have always come to me when they need to talk. I love to listen. Giving advice is tricky sometimes, though. Now, I know it sounds super cliche, but I want to help people help themselves. Medication is necessary for EVERYTHING, and sometimes it really helps people just to talk through their problems. In some cases, medication is necessary, but for those people who need someone to listen, I am their woman.

    I love when people tell me stories about their lives. One, it’s nice to know that other people have problems, and two, it sometimes gives me inspiration for characters, because I’m also a writer. It sounds kind of arrogant, but I like to understand people. I don’t sit there and analyze people all the time, but I get an understanding of who they are, and it helps me communicate with them.

    But dentistry, that is noble. Good for you. I mean, I love to study medicine, but I could never ever ever be a dentist. Teeth freak me out. Well, people messing with my teeth freak me out. I’m all about dental hygiene, but my last dentist did NOT listen to me when I told him he was hitting a nerve, and he kept drilling, even though I was in tears, and I almost puked on him. He–completely unrelated–was murdered two years ago today. I’m also super…not comfortable around dentists because I was a super late teether, and had to have 4 baby teeth pulled when I was in the 8th grade, and…ewwwwwwww, it was terrible. But if that’s what you love, by all means, go for it. I totally support your decision. We need our teefs!!!

  15. Kate permalink
    1:19 am 1:19 am

    Oops. *isn’t

    Medication ISN’T necessary for everything…

  16. 8:25 pm 8:25 pm

    thanx kate for ur support ๐Ÿ™‚ thats really nice of u! and i think being a psychologist is a good idea, but just beware of all the stupid ppl and messed up freaks u’ll get! lol. btw, ur messages r always super long! nothings bad about that tho cuz i luv to read! ๐Ÿ˜€

  17. 8:29 pm 8:29 pm

    i want to be a computer graphic designer ๐Ÿ˜€

  18. 8:31 pm 8:31 pm

    oh cool!

  19. Kate permalink
    11:34 pm 11:34 pm

    Sorry, I know they’re long. A teacher I had one time got us in the habit of “stream of consciousness” writing, which basically means you write anything and everything that goes through your mind. So…I ramble a lot. You should read my journal, The Account of My Insanity. It’s pure madness, but it’s entertaining.

    I thought about being a graphic designer, but it turns out that’s one of few things that I don’t totally kick ass at. I’m freaking amazing, but…not THAT amazing.

    Sorry. I’m not totally conceited. But I am pretty amazing. ๐Ÿ˜€

  20. 8:09 pm 8:09 pm

    thats ok. i dont do that tho because i could be typing about my favourite subject in school but then id talk about my fave food and why and then i would be talking about how much i hate this girl who thinks she my bff but im actually bffs with someone else and… ugh. u get my point tho lol

  21. 11:55 pm 11:55 pm

    BlackCherise-i pretended to be friends with *counts in head* 5 peoples so far. 1 moved (thank god) and the rest i pretend to friends with sometimes even though i HATE them!!

    Kate- I dunno how to become a graphic designer so please tell me! Maybe i should make a separate post about jobs…..

  22. Kate permalink
    1:45 am 1:45 am

    Well, first you should take some art classes, then some graphic design classes, and them probably some multimedia publishing classes. I know you know how to do a lot of the stuff already, but unless you have school credits saying that you did it, no one will really care.

    A lot of graphic designing stuff is freelance work, so you are kind of your own boss, which is cool, but you have to work really hard to get your name out there and find your own clients. That’s another reason I decided not to go into graphic design–unless you’re really super mega fantastic, it can be hard to find work. And without steady work, sometimes you have to choose between paying rent and eating, and that’s no fun.

  23. 1:20 pm 1:20 pm

    (NOT BRAGGING!) my friends say i’m a pretty good artist. weneva i pull out a pad from my desk and the MOMENT the pencil lead hits the paper i get, lets say… 4 people watching me! ugh, its annoying but it makes me feel so special! ๐Ÿ˜† so far i’ve been drawing this girl called Buck. (just to letcha know, i always draw made up ppl.) she’s an albino sorceress and she wears this long black cloak, a fairly large grey fur sweater type thing and these pants/boot thing made out of black dragon skin. she also has a knife which sits in this thing on her left leg, like a knife holder i guess. buts its made out of leather. and she always has this red sparkling glow surrounding her cuz she’s a sorceress. i’m all about fantasy and adventure books so that would explain Buck, lol. but b4 i was working on another girl called Kerry Ann. she was 10 yrs old (btw Buck is 14) and for her 10th bday she got this necklace. weneva she wore the necklace and said the word Galenia, she would be taken there! in my story everyone on earth thought Galenia was a myth, but Kerry Ann belived it was real. and Galenia was a star! so the ppl on it would be like microscopic! in Galenia she met this cute guy called Hajile (notice Hajile is Elijah backwards) and he showed her around Galenia. then she meets this girl called Aira (that’s Aria backwards) who seems sweet enough but not trustworthy. the reason she’s not trustworthy is cuz shes not really Aira! she’s really Xyno (Onyx backwards), an Alastorian Death Bringer who is out to capture Hahjile cuz he is actually hier to the throne and omg i could go one forever…. lol

  24. 1:20 pm 1:20 pm

    holy crud that must be the longest comment ive ever typed.

  25. 6:09 pm 6:09 pm

    ๐Ÿ˜† i like fair tales sometimes. there funny to read.

  26. Kate permalink
    9:42 pm 9:42 pm

    That’s fantastic. I can’t draw people to save my life, but I there are some characters that I’ve been working on since I was 6 years old. I’ve developed them, and they’ve changed as I’ve changed, and I love to look back at their progression. It’s crazy.

    Keep working! Your work will never get better if you don’t work on it. That’s how you grow as an artist. I’d love to see your work if you’d like to share.

  27. 10:41 pm 10:41 pm

    ds – i know!
    kate – thanx! ppl always say “ugh, i cant draw!” but the truth is, they can! i mean, anyone can draw but not everyone’s drawings r gonna look like Van Gough r they? and most of my ppl change over the years too.
    i will keep working! its a hobbie (ok, its more of a habit nowadays! ๐Ÿ˜† ) that i cant break! and my parents told me the same thing. if u hardly ever contuine, you’ll never improve! and maybe i could post some pics of my drawings one day on my blog. i’ll have to ask first.

  28. 10:41 pm 10:41 pm

    i think i spelt Van Gough wrong….

  29. 10:43 pm 10:43 pm

    btw if u wanna express urself using art try this site – http://artpad.art.com/artpad/painter/ u can also publish it in the online gallery! i did but where i typed my name it got messed up ๐Ÿ˜ก oh well! i hope u try it and have fun!

Leave a Reply

